Cricket Betting Tips

ICC Cricket World Cup Winners List

ICC Cricket World Cup Winners List 1975-2023; The ICC Cricket World Cup was first held in 1975, with the latest edition taking place in India in 2023. Australia is the most successful team in the history of the competition with six wins in total. 

The ICC Cricket World Cup is the 50-over competition, not the T20 event. You can find more information about the history of the T20 competition on our T20 World Cup winners list. 

To find out who is favourite to win the 2027 competition, check out our Cricket World Cup winner betting page. Below we have put together the complete list of Men’s 50-over hosts, winners and runners-up in our ODI World Cup cricket table.

YearHostWinner Runner-Up Result
1975England West Indies Australia West Indies won by 17 runs
1979EnglandWest Indies (2)EnglandWest Indies won by 92 runs
1983EnglandIndiaWest IndiesIndia won by 43 runs
1987India, PakistanAustraliaEnglandAustralia won by 7 runs
1992Australia, New ZealandPakistanEnglandPakistan won by 22 runs
1996Pakistan, India, Sri LankaSri LankaAustraliaSri Lanka won by 7 wickets
1999EnglandAustralia (2)PakistanAustralia won by 8 wickets
2003South AfricaAustralia (3)IndiaAustralia won by 125 runs
2007West IndiesAustralia (4)Sri LankaAustralia won by 53 runs
2011India, Bangladesh, Sri LankaIndia (2)Sri LankaIndia won by 6 wickets
2015Australia, New ZealandAustralia (5)New ZealandAustralia won by 7 wickets
2019England, WalesEnglandNew ZealandEngland won by tie-break 
2023IndiaAustralia (6)IndiaAustralia won by 6 wickets

Which Cricket Team Has the Most ICC Cricket World Cup Wins?

The cricket team with the most World Cup wins is Australia with six victories. 

Who Has Appeared in the ICC Cricket World Cup Most?

The nation with the most ICC Cricket World Cup final appearances is Australia with eight. The Aussies have won six and lost two. 

Cricket World Cup Winners List 

Nation AppearancesWins Runners-UpYears WonYears Runner-Up 
Australia 8621987, 1999, 2003, 2007, 2015, 20231975, 1996
India4221983, 20112003, 2023
West Indies 3211975, 19791983
England 41320191979, 1987, 1992
Sri Lanka 31219962007, 2011
Pakistan 21119921999
New Zealand 2022015, 2019

Cricket World Cup Wins and Final Appearances by Nation 

How Many Times Has Australia Won the ICC Cricket World Cup?

Australia is by far the most successful nation in the history of the competition with six wins in total. Their first win came back in 1987, when Allan Border led the team to a 7-run win against England. 

A winning streak of three in 1999, 2003, and 2007, was added to by another victory in 2015. On that occasion, Michael Clarke led his team to a 7-wicket win over the Black Caps at the Melbourne Cricket Ground (MCG).

The Australians most recent win came when they defeated India by 6 wickets in the Narendra Modi Stadium, in an enthralling final played in front of over 100,000 fans.

How Many Times Has India Won the ICC Cricket World Cup?

India has won the ICC Cricket World Cup on two occasions. Their first win was a shock 43-run victory over the then-great West Indies at Lord’s in 1983. Back then the team was led by the legendary Kapil Dev.

Then in 2011, India won the competition for a second time thanks to the leadership and batting skills of the great MS Dhoni. 

How Many Times Has the West Indies Won the ICC Cricket World Cup?

The West Indies have won the Cricket World Cup on two occasions. Back when the competition started in 1975, the Windies were the strongest team in world cricket. 

In the inaugural World Cup in 1975, Clive Lloyd led his nation to a 17-run win against Australia. Four years later, Lloyd again captained his team to World Cup glory. This time a more comfortable 92-run win over England. 

How Many Times Has England Won the ICC Cricket World Cup?

Eoin Morgan led England to their one and only Cricket World Cup crown at Lord’s in 2019. In what was probably the greatest-ever final, England won on a boundary count-back tiebreak after the 50-over match and the Super Overs both ended in draws.

England have also lost three times in the final. Once to the West Indies in 1979, against Australia in 1987 and to Pakistan in 1992. 

How Many Times Has Sri Lanka Won the ICC Cricket World Cup?

Sri Lanka has won the ICC Cricket World Cup on one occasion. Back in 1996, Arjuna Ranatunga led his nation to a 7-wicket win against the then dominant Australia, and the Gaddafi Stadium in Lahore, Pakistan.

Sri Lanka has been to the final on two other occasions. Once in 2007, when they lost to Australia. And again in 2011, when they were defeated by India.

How Many Times Has Pakistan Won the ICC Cricket World Cup?

Pakistan has won the ICC Cricket World Cup on one occasion. In 1992, Imran Khan (yes, that’s the one) led his nation to a famous 22-run win over Graham Gooch’s England in Melbourne, Australia. 

Set 250 to win, England simply had no answer to the inspirational Wasim Akram who was unplayable on the night.  

Pakistan also appeared in the 1999 final at Lord’s in England. On this occasion they were crushed by Australia, losing by 8 wickets.

How Many Times Has New Zealand Won the ICC Cricket World Cup?

New Zealand has never won the ICC Cricket World Cup. The closest they have come was in 2015 and 2019, when they lost in the finals to Australia and England, respectively.

How Many Times Has South Africa Won the ICC Cricket World Cup?

South Africa has never won an ICC Cricket World Cup. Despite having one of the best teams in the world over the years, the best the Proteas have ever managed is reaching the semi-finals. 

South Africa has lost at the semi-final stage on four occasions. Once to England in 1992. Twice to Australia in 1999 and 2007. And once to New Zealand in 2015.

Would your cricket loving Buddies enjoy this?