Cricket World Cup Betting

The next Cricket World Cup (2015) is being held in being held in Australia and New Zealand. The first Pool match is being played on Saturday 14th February 2015, in Christchurch New Zealand, with the final being contested on Sunday 29th March 2015, in Melbourne.

The competing nations are broken up into two groups for the first stage. They are as follows….

Pool A – England, Australia, Sri Lanka, Bangladesh, New Zealand, Afghanistan, Scotland.

Pool B – South Africa, India, Pakistan, West Indies, Zimbabwe, Ireland, United Arab Emirates (UAE).

Each nation will play 6 Pool matches against each other (they play each other once). After which, the top 4 from both Pools will compete in the quarter-finals at Melbourne, Sydney, Adelaide and Wellington, before the two semi-finals are played in Auckland and Sydney, with the final taking place at the MCG in Melbourne.

The full list of venue cities are Adelaide, Auckland, Brisbane, Canberra, Christchurch, Dunedin, Napier, Nelson, Hamilton, Hobart, Melbourne, Perth, Sydney and Wellington.

Popular Cricket World Cup Betting Markets

There are plenty of different things to bet on in a cricket world cup. You can bet on individual matches, or simply have an outright winner bet. As well as outright winner betting, there are also numerous other popular markets. A selection of these markets follows…..

Top Batsman Betting – Which batsman will score most world cup runs.
Top Bowler Betting – Which bowler will take the most world cup wickets.
First Time Winner Betting – Will there be a new first time winner of the world cup.
Group Winner Betting – Who will win their respective group.
Winning Group Betting – Which group will the world cup winners come from.
Continent Of The Winner – Which continent will the winner come from, Asia, Europe, Australasia, etc.
To Reach The Semi Final Betting – Will a particular team reach the semi finals.
To Reach The Final Betting – Will a particular team reach the final.

As well as these markets, you will also find plenty of team individual markets. For example, taking Australia, you can have a bet on their stage of elimination, who will be Australia’s top run scorer, top wicket taker, etc. These markets will be available on every individual country.

Cricket World Cup History

The first World Cup was held in England in 1975, and was won by the brilliant West Indian side (at Lord’s) captained by Clive Lloyd, they beat Ian Chappell’s Australia by 17 runs, in (what was then) a 60 Over a side match.

The current champions are India, who beat Sri Lanka in a thrilling final in 2011 in Mumbai (adding to their 1983 victory), seeing Indian legend Sachin Tendulkar finally getting his hands on the trophy after years of Aussie dominance. The afore mentioned Australia already have 4 World Cup victories to their name. They first won in 1987, then reeled off three successive victories in 1999, 2003 and 2007.

Other winners are West Indies in the first two tournaments in 1975 and 1979. Pakistan won the 1992 World Cup, and Sri Lanka won the 1996 tournament. Of the main Test playing nations, New Zealand, England and South Africa are yet to win a World Cup (in this format).

Who Is Favourite To Win The Cricket World Cup?

Australia are unsurprisingly the favourites to lift the trophy. The tournament is in their own back yard – with the final played at Melbourne (MCG) – and they have all of a sudden become a World force again over the past few months since Darren Lehmann took over the team in the summer of 2013.

The Aussies are a best price of 7/2 with bet365 to win their 5th World Cup. Perennial under achievers South Africa are second favourite at 9/2, while defending champions India are third favourites at 5/1.

World Cup Betting Odds

  • Australia 7/2
  • South Africa 9/2
  • India 5/1
  • Sri Lanka 8/1
  • England 10/1
  • New Zealand 10/1
  • Pakistan 10/1
  • West Indies 16/1
  • Bangladesh 100/1
  • Ireland 500/1
  • Zimbabwe 500/1
  • Afghanistan 1000/1
  • Scotland 5000/1
  • UAE 5000/1

A little cricket betting tip, there has been only one other cricket world cup held in Australasia, back in 1992, and that was won by Imran Khan’s Pakistan team. This was only the second time an Asian team won the world cup outside of the sub-continent (the other was India in England and Wales in 1983).

Cricket World Cup Each-Way Betting

Each-way betting is to finish in the top 2 (get to the final). Some bookies are only offering 1/3 of the odds, while the following bookmakers are offering 1/2 the odds :-