Cricket Betting Tips

Cricket Betting

Books and DVDs


Here on cricket betting blog I have put together a selection of books and DVDs about cricket that I find interesting, and to start with, as an England fan I have selected winning Ashes series DVDs as my favourite viewing.

Not many to choose from over the last 20 years or so. The most recent is The 2009 series Ashes victory, The official story on DVD, which tells the story of how England won a scrappy series 2-1. It includes how Monty and Jimmy Anderson held out for a draw in Cardiff and Flintoff’s remarkable match winning performance at Lord’s.

After the rain affected draw at Edgbaston, England were then thrashed at Headingley. Then the final Test at the Oval, Ian Bell set up England’s 1st innings total with a hard fought 72, before Stuart Broad’s inspired spell of bowling and Jonathan Trott’s maiden century finished the job and won England the Ashes.

Before that was arguably the greatest test series ever, certainly in my time of watching cricket. The next DVD is the The 2005 Ashes, 3 disc box set, from the 2-1 home series victory over Australia.

Including action from the Aussies win at Lord’s. The unbelievable 2nd Test from Edgbaston. The Aussies celebrating a draw at Old Trafford, then England taking the momentum to Trent Bridge and taking a 2-1 lead. Finally the remarkable scenes at the Oval after Kevin Pietersen’s brilliant hundred saved the match and won the series for England.


2009 Ashes

Atherton’s Ashes: How England Won the 2009 Ashes. A collective of Mike Atherton’s newspaper columns from over the course of the summer, along with his views of the series as a whole.

Gideon Haigh’s take on the story of the 2009 Ashes Series : The Ultimate Test

England’s Ashes: The Exclusive and Official Story of the npower Ashes Series 2009 Written by Peter Hayter this book includes input from the England squad, giving you their views on the series and how they felt during and after it.

Bodyline Series

Harold Larwood – The story of one of England’s greatest ever bowlers by author, Duncan Hamilton. The man made the scapegoat for the ‘bodyline series’ which almost brought Anglo-Australian relations to the brink of collapse.

Bodyline Autopsy The Full Story of the Most Sensational Test Cricket Series – England Vs. Australia 1932-3 David Frith’s account of the story of the most contraversial Test series ever.

In Quest of the “Ashes” by Douglas and Fianach Jardine. Douglas Jardine’s take on ‘leg theory‘ as he called it, and his plan to neutralize Don Bradman.


Matthew Hoggard – Hoggy: Welcome to My World: The Peculiar World of Matthew Hoggard, this book was described as confirming Hoggard’s retirement from international cricket, given his opinions on the ECB and the selectors.

Shane Warne – My Autobiography – Warne’s version of events of his colourful career.

Michael Vaughan Time to Declare – Vaughan’s take on his career.

Andrew Flintoff: Ashes to Ashes Flintoff charts his turbulent time between the 2005 and 2009 Ashes series.

Coming Back to Me: The Autobiography of Marcus Trescothick Tres tells all about his struggles with anxiety and depression.

Alternative Cricket Reading

Wisden Cricketers’ Almanack 2010

Wisden Cricketers’ Almanack 2009

Shane Warne’s Century: My Top 100 Test Cricketers

Would your cricket loving Buddies enjoy this?
en_GBEnglish (UK)