Cricket Betting Tips

Cricket Betting

Australia V West Indies – ICC Champions Trophy, Group A

New Wanderers Stadium, Johannesburg – Saturday, September 26, 2009

Match Betting

Australia are 1/16 with Stan James and William Hill
West Indies are 12/1 with Sportingbet
A Tied Match is 74/1 at Betfair

Not much of a contest expected in this match up, which is a rerun of the most recent Champions Trophy final when Australia beat West Indies at Mumbai in 2006.

This time round the result will probably be the same, but in reality any thoughts of a serious match are distant ones, which will probably disappoint the Aussies who will feel they owe West Indies from the beating handed out to them by Chris Gayle in particular in the World Twenty20 earlier this year in England.

West Indies 2nd or 3rd string – whichever you want to call them – did give Pakistan more of a match than they were expected to earlier this week. The West Indian batting wasn’t up to much but the bowlers certainly made Pakistan work for the victory and ruffed them up a good bit in the process.

For the Aussies, they are coming off the back of a long and tiresome tour of England. They would appear to be in some sort of 50 over form after beating England 6-1 in a series which only ended last Sunday. I wouldn’t read a great deal into that result though, obviously you can only beat whats in front of you and Australia did play well, but England were abysmal and at times looked like a second rate 50 over side.

Brett Lee looked like a dog let off his leash at times against England and along with Mitchell Johnson the new ball pairing should be way too much for West Indies batting line up. The Aussies are without Nathan Bracken who returned home and Michael Clarke who is resting his sore back.

Probable Teams

Australia – Shane Watson, Tim Paine (WK), Ricky Ponting (C), Michael Hussey, Callum Ferguson, Cameron White, James Hopes, Mitchell Johnson, Brett Lee, Nathan Hauritz, Peter Siddle.

West Indies – Dale Richards, Andre Fletcher, Devon Smith, Travis Dowlin, Floyd Reifer (C), David Bernard, Darren Sammy, Chadwick Walton (WK), Nikita Miller, Tino Best, Gavin Tonge.

Would your cricket loving Buddies enjoy this?
en_GBEnglish (UK)