Big Bash Betting

The Big Bash is Australia’s domestic T20 tournament and their answer to the Indian Premier League (IPL). It is a franchise tournament, with matches usually played in round-robin format from mid December to the start of February, with the top 4 competing in the semi-finals, followed by a final.

The defending champions are the Perth Scorchers, who defeated the Hobart Hurricanes by 39 runs in Perth last February. A full fixture list of the 2014/15 Big Bash season can be found here.

Big Bash Betting Promotions

Throughout the whole of the Big Bash, Paddy Power are running a promotion on every match that sees losing Match Winner bets refunded if a Six (6) is hit in the last over of that match. The maximum refund is £100.00, and the refund comes in the form of a free bet.

If you don’t already have a Paddy Power account, you can open one here and claim a £50.00 free bet.

Big Bash History

The first domestic T20 tournament in Australia was held in the 2005/06 season, and was won by the Victorian Bushrangers. Back in 2005 the tournament was a 6 team tournament – made up of State sides – with 2 groups of 3 teams playing each other once, and the group winners contesting the final (7 matches in total).

These days it has significantly changed. For the 2011/12 season the competition re-branded itself and became the T20 Big Bash League, as we know it today. The most significant change of all though, seen the competing teams change from State sides, to be City franchises.

The tournament has also grown a lot from the 7 matches played in it’s inaugural season, to over 30 matches these days.

2015 Big Bash

This year’s Big Bash is going to be a slightly shorter tournament that usual. The start date is 18th December 2015, with the final being contested on 28th January 2015 – this is due to the Cricket World Cup, which starts on 14th February 2015.

Again, it is an 8 team franchise with Adelaide Strikers, Brisbane Heat, Hobart Hurricanes, Melbourne Stars, Melbourne Renegades, Perth Scorchers, Sydney Sixers and Sydney Thunder, all playing each other in round-robin format.

Big Bash Betting

The favourites for the 2015 Big Bash are Melbourne Stars who are 11/4 with Paddy Power (in the UK markets). Down under, Melbourne Stars are also 11/4 with Sportsbet. Defending champions, Perth Scorchers are joint second favourites at 5/1 to defend their title.

Related Pages: